Skip to Content

UEFA Europa League: Winners By Year

The Europa League is always in the shadow of the Champions League, but it’s still a very prestigious tournament that is followed by millions of fans worldwide. With the popularity of the Europa League, it’s always interesting to look at the past winners.

Below is a breakdown of all the Europa League winners, from the first tournament in 1971 to the most recent event.

Before going through each year, here are the clubs with the most Europa League titles.

Here are all the Europa League winners, from the start in 1971 to the most recent tournament.

Season WinnerScoreRunner-up
2021/2022Eintracht Frankfurt1-1 (5-4 p.)Rangers FC
2020/2021Villarreal CF1-1 (11-10 p.)Manchester United
2019/2020Sevilla FC3-2Inter Milan
2018/2019Chelsea FC4-1Arsenal FC
2017/2018Atletico Madrid3-0Olympique De Marseille
2016/2017Manchester United2-0AFC Ajax
2015/2016Sevilla FC3-1Liverpool FC
2014/2015Sevilla FC3-2FC Dnipro
2013/2014Sevilla FC0-0 (4-3 p.)SL Benfica
2012/2013Chelsea FC2-1SL Benfica
2011/2012Atletico Madrid3-0Athletic Bilbao
2010/2011FC Porto 1-0Braga FC
2009/2010Atltico Madrid2-1 (e.t)Fulham FC
2008/2009Shakhtar Donetsk2-1 (e.t)Werder Bremen
2007/2008Zenit Saint Petersburg2-0Rangers FC
2006/2007Sevilla FC2-2 (3-1 p.)RCD Espanyol
2005/2006Sevilla FC4-0Middlesbrough
2004/2005CSKA Moscow3-1Sporting CP
2003/2004Valencia CF2-0Olympique De Marseille
2002/2003Porto FC3-2 (e.t)Celtic FC
2001/2002Feyenoord3-2Borussia Dortmund
2000/2001Liverpool FC5-4 (e.t)Deportivo Alavs
1999/2000Galatasaray0-0 (4-1 p.)Arsenal FC
1998/1999Parma Calcio3-0Olympique De Marseille
1997/1998Inter Milan3-0SS Lazio
Two Leg MatchesFirst Match, Second Match
1996/1997 Schalke 041-0, 0-1 (4-1 p.)Inter Milan
1995/1996Bayern Munich2-0, 3-1FC Bordeaux
1994/1995Parma Calcio1-0, 1-1Juventus FC
1993/1994Inter Milan1-0, 1-0FC Red Bull Salzburg
1992/1993Juventus FC3-1, 3-0Borussia Dortmund
1991/1992AFC Ajax2-2, 0-0 (Away Goals)Torino FC
1990/1991Inter Milan2-0, 0-1AS Roma
1989/1990Juventus FC3-1, 0-0Fiorentina
1988/1989Napoli FC2-1, 3-3VfB Stuttgart
1987/1988Bayer Leverkusen0-3, 3-0 (3-2 p.)RCD Espanyol
1986/1987IFK Göteborg1-0, 1-1Dundee United
1985/1986Real Madrid5-1, 0-2FC Cologne
1984/1985Real Madrid3-0, 0-1Videoton
1983/1984Tottenham Hotspur1-1, 1-1 (4-3 p.)Anderlecht
1982/1983Anderlecht1-0, 1-1Benfica
1981/1982IFK Göteborg1-0, 3-0Hamburger SV
1980/1981Ipswich Town3-0, 2-4AZ Alkmaar
1979/1980Eintracht Frankfurt2-3, 1-0 (Away Goals)Borussia Mönchengladbach
1978/1979Borussia Mönchengladbach1-1, 1-0Red Star Belgrade
1977/1978PSV Eindhoven0-0, 3-0Bastia
1976/1977Juventus FC1-0, 1-2 (Away Goals)Athletic Bilbao
1975/1976Liverpool FC3-2, 1-1Club Brugge
1974/1975Borussia Mönchengladbach0-0, 5-1Twente
1973/1974Feyenoord2-2, 2-0Tottenham Hotspur
1972/1973Liverpool FC3-0, 0-2Borussia Mönchengladbach
1971/1972Tottenham Hotspur2-1, 1-1Wolverhampton Wanderers

Other Tournament/League Winners Lists: