Skip to Content

UEFA European Championship: Winners By Year

The UEFA European Championship is one of the most prestigious tournaments in the world, across all sports. It’s not only followed by the European audience, but by millions of fans worldwide.

With all the popularity for the tournament, it’s always interesting to look at the past winners. Below is a breakdown of all the Copa América winners, from the start first tournament in 1960 to the most recent event.

Before going through each winner, here are the nations with the most European Championship titles.

Here are all the European Championship winners, from the start in 1960 to the most recent tournament.

2020 Italy1-1 (3-2 p.)England
2016Portugal1–0 (e.t)France
2000France2-1 (Golden Goal)Italy
1996Germany2-1 (Golden Goal)Czech Republic
1988Netherlands2-0Soviet Union
1980West Germany2-1Belgium
1976Czechoslovakia2-2 (5-3 p.)West Germany
1972West Germany3-0Soviet Union
1964Spain2-1Soviet Union
1960Soviet Union2-1 (e.t)Yugoslavia

Other league/tournament winners lists: